Blog

Long before whey turns into a powerful protein-packed powder, it’s a small but very important piece of what makes up cow milk. Cow milk is generally 3.3 percent protein and comprised of two different types of protein: whey and casein. Whey is about .6 percent of the milk, while casein accounts for roughly 2.7 percent. Even though whey…

Read More

Even though whey protein is derived from milk, some forms of it are lactose-free. If you’re lactose-intolerant and are looking for a supplement then you don’t have to settle for a plant protein powder.  So, which whey protein is lactose-free? The short answer is whey protein isolate. According to the San Francisco Chronicle,…

Read More

If you are lactose intolerant you may be able to tolerate whey protein isolate, which contains little to no lactose. The amount of lactose in whey protein concentrate is higher. As always, it is important to contact the manufacturer as lactose content can vary from product to product. For more information on the types of whey proteins,…

Read More

If you are lactose intolerant or lactose sensitive, you may be wondering if you can consume whey protein as part of your healthy diet. Lactose intolerance, also called lactase deficiency and hypolactasia, is the inability to digest lactose, a sugar found in milk (and hence some dairy products). Whey protein is a by-product of the cheese…

Read More