Blog

RSS

If you are lactose intolerant or lactose sensitive, you may be wondering if you can consume whey protein as part of your healthy diet. Lactose intolerance, also called lactase deficiency and hypolactasia, is the inability to digest lactose, a sugar found in milk (and hence some dairy products). Whey protein is a by-product of the cheese making process, so it would be natural to think that whey protein contains lactose. But as Carolyn, a registered dietitian with the Midwest Dairy Association, explains in this video, whey protein isolate contains less than 1 percent lactose. This means pure whey protein isolate contains very little lactose, and you may be able to consume it even if you are lactose intolerant or lactose sensitive.Always be sure to read the label on the whey protein product you purchase or talk with your doctor if you have questions about adding whey protein to your healthy diet. For more information on the many health benefits of whey protein, click to download our whitepaper.